Local Government

Crickhowell’s Town Council and the four Community Councils form the first level of administration in the immediate surrounding areas of the town. Powys County Council administers the whole of the county. You can find out more about all your local councils, their services and how to contact them by following the links below.

Crickhowell Town Council

Crickhowell Town Council has 12 Councillors and meets on the 3rd Tuesday of every month in the Crickhowell Resource and Information Centre commencing at 7pm.

Members of the public are welcome to attend meetings. You can find out how you may speak at Council Meetings by contacting the clerk.

Contact the clerk – contact@crickhowelltowncouncil.gov.uk


Cwmdu & District Community Council

All meetings start at 7pm and members of the public are welcome

NB The second meeting each month are planning meetings which will be cancelled by the Clerk two days before if there are no new applications to discuss. The August meeting may be required to deal with outstanding items.

Clerk: Maj (Retd) RAB Doak – 01873 811016


Llangattock Community Council

The Community of Llangattock lies in the south-east corner of the County of Powys, to the south of the River Usk opposite the market town of Crickhowell. It is also within the Brecon Beacons National Park, and is an area of great natural beauty, dominated by the limestone crags of Mynydd Llangatwg. ‘Llangattock’ is the anglicised version of the Welsh name ‘Llangatwg’ (Llan – a church or enclosure; Catwg – the Patron Saint).

The origins of the village are likely to have been associated with the ecclesiastical settlement, and the oldest part of Llangattock is centred round St Catwg’s Church, which dates back to the 11th Century. Llangattock village lies in the valley, but there are also the outlying hamlets of the Dardy, Ffawyddog, Legar and Hillside, which form the wider settlement of Llangattock. The present population is approximately 1200.

Llangattock Community Council consists of ten elected members representing all of the people in the Community. Council meetings are held on the third Tuesday of the month at Llangattock Community Hall. The Council has responsibility for a beautifully situated Recreation Ground with children’s play equipment; also, a cemetery and village car park. Brecon Beacons National Park Authority – Rights of Way Improvement Plan Questionnaire

The Brecon Beacons National Park Authority is currently reviewing its Rights of Way Improvement Plan that was published in 2007. The Plan is the means by which the Authority plans strategically for the management, development, integration and promotion of the rights of way network, and other land to which the public has access, within the National Park.

Clerk: Kay Bailey-Jones & Sue Dale (job share) – 01873 598067 (01874 730202), llangattockcc@gmail.com


Llangynidr Community Council

Meetings are held monthly (except for August and December) in the village hall at 7:30pm on the last Tuesday. There is a planning meeting first, when all new planning applications are viewed and are discussed, followed by the general meeting. More information may be found at the Llangynidr Community Council webpage.

Clerk: Sue Dale – 01874 730202


Vale of Grwyney Community Council

The Vale of Grwyney Community Council now has its own website. Please click here to go to the new site for all details about the Council, its activities, Councillors and much more.

Clerk: Maria James – 01873 890777, valeofgrwyneycc@gmail.com


Powys County Council

Powys County Council is the local authority for Powys, one of the administrative areas of Wales serving the community council areas covered by Crickhowell, The Vale of Grwyney,  Llangynidr, Cwmdu & District. The County Hall is located in Llandrindod Wells

Tel: 01597 827460

email: https://en.powys.gov.uk/article/947/Service-Contacts

web: Powys County Council 

James Evans

Member of Senedd for Brecon & Radnorshire

James Evans is a Welsh Conservative Party politician, who has served as Member of the Senedd for Brecon and Radnorshire since the 2021 Senedd election. James is the Shadow Minister for Mental Heath, Wellbeing and Mid Wales.

address: 2 Penycamlais, Rich Way, Brecon  LD3 7EH

tel: 01874 793142

email: james.evans@senedd.wales

Fay Jones MP

Member of Parliament for Brecon & Radnorshire

Email: fay.jones.mp@parliament.uk


Crickhowell Library

Managed by Crickhowell High School in partnership with Powys Library Service